Going down under

Standard

Last Monday I hit the road first by train, from Asker to Gardermoen. There I managed to get through the pass ports, drop my luggage at the right spot, find my classmates, and I even got onto the aircraft in time. Amazing. Been so stressed up I’ve hardly slept the last week. Now my entire world is turned up side down, and I finally find myself down under.

At Heathrow Airport in London I had the worst American pancakes ever. So glad I didn’t get sick or threw up on the plane. Anyway, after 40 hors of travel all of us – 16 girls and 4 boys, got pass the security guards at Brisbane Airport. In Hong Kong I saw the most beautiful sunrise ever, and I even got it on tape in 16:9. Hoho! We had a chill hangout there for like 6 hours, and experienced China for the first time. Lost in translation.


China is NICE. Living the dream! Could not upload more photos ’cause of the horrible internet connection.

The passed week I’ve not had any thrustful internet connection, and truth is that in Australia it’s horribly expensive. Right now I am at a shabby motel in Goondiwindi in New South Wales. Last night we were out on a local pub and it really was a good time. Guess we all got to know each other a little better. Hilarious! Had so many wasted laughs… Norwegians. Stupid Vikings. In an hour or so we’ll hit the road again heading for Bourke and the Australian outback. There we’ll stay for a week living with local host families. I’m really excited. Aboriginal culture, boomerang workshop, guided tours through the landscape, and outback bugs. One of the nights we’ll sleep under the massive sky and the Milkyway. The star constellations are insane. So up side down. Everything. Can’t wait to get out there. Tomorrow the lessons start, and photography is the first thing on the menu. We go by bus, a hippie-like small one managed and driven by two chill teachers from Griffith University. On our way out here yesterday I saw the phenomenon road kill. Dead kangaroos in countless numbers. The usually get hit by trucks in the morning hours. Makes me sad. Luckily I think I saw some alive ones too, and some wild goats. Now I have to go, and hopefully I will find some internet access in Bourke, and give you guys a better update. I’ll add some pictures just to get my folks at home really jealous – when I come to my host family. Gonna live together with Anne Berit, a cute friend of mine. I talked to my mum the other day and the temperature back home says 7° and there’s snow in the mountains. The last week I’ve shopped a 2nd hand vintage hat, and Australian classic, a Stetson, and three beautiful summer dresses. Second hand heaven is named Vulture Street, West End, Brisbane. HEART. Fuck, so happy I found that area. Wish my girls could have been there with me. Miss them so much. Right now I’m skyping with my homies back in Tomrefjord. Love and light K.

2 responses »

Leave a comment